PMC Makes Announcement About MDCAT Passing Marks

The Pakistan Medical Commission has announced the MDCAT passing marks for admission in the medical and dental colleges. The MDCAT is conducted every year for the candidates who intend to get admission in the medical and dental colleges after completing the FSc (pre-medical) or equivalent study program.

The candidates must pass the test with the maximum marks to secure admission. This year the MDCAT had been conducted in August-September, and afterward, the commission had declared the result.

Medical and Dental College Admissions

According to the PMC Act 2020, only those students who have passed the MDCAT as per the MDCAT result announced by the PMC will be eligible to take admission.

This applies to all public and private medical/dental colleges across Pakistan.  The National Medical and Dental Academic Board and Medical and Dental Council have the right to determine and set the standard and passing marks of MDCAT. No other authority has the right to alter the passing patterns for the MDCAT.

PMC Makes Announcement About MDCAT Passing Marks

MDCAT Passing Marks

As per the announcement made by the PMC, the MDCAT passing marks are 137 (65%). The candidate who has not received the passing certificate will not be able to take admission.

A student who has not qualified for the MDCAT will not be registered by the Pakistan Medical Commission even if legally admitted to the college.

Any medical or dental college that admits a student who has not passed the MDCAT will be liable to strict action.  The registration of the medical college will be canceled.

The PMC will also take strict action against colleges that accept such admissions and do not follow the announced admission criteria in enrolling students.

As per the PMC Act 2020, the candidate who has not qualified for the MDCAT will not get the MBBS and BDS degrees in Pakistan. Thus a student without qualifying for the medical entrance exam will not be eligible for licensing the medical or dental practitioner in Pakistan.